TechToTheResacue-logo-horizontal
May 22-24, 20224 | Event ended

Zero Hunger Hackathon

Empower global food security with your coding skills

Event in  collaboration with 

Sign up for our newsletter to be the first to learn about registration openings and join the mission.

Become a part of the
Tech for Good movement! 

0

Challenges

+ 100

Participants

$ 1000

Prize pool to donate to NGO of your choice

EVENT ENDED

Together, we code for change

Register your tech team and build solutions to one of the real-world challenges of the Hackathon. Work directly with nonprofit organizations from LATAM and Africa to develop impactful solutions that reduce the food security crisis.

Participation in the online Hackathon is free of charge.

Impactful contribution

Directly contribute to solving a global crisis—food insecurity.
It’s an opportunity to use tech skills for a cause that matters, making a real difference in the lives of millions.

Lead with innovation

Show off your tech skills by creating new solutions for food security, having an impact on the world. It’s your chance to explore how technology can go beyond the usual, finding new ways to solve big problems on a global scale.

Mentorship

Benefit from guidance and insights from industry leaders and mentors, offering an uparalleled opportunity to learn and grow.

AWS Promotional Credits

Benefit from access to AWS promotional credits to fuel your project’s development, ensuring your innovations have the support needed to evolve from concept to real-world application. 

Pre-Hackathon Event

Ready to test your skills in a real-world scenario?

Zero Hunger Hackathon Edition 
May 14 | Week before

Registration is closed

AWS GameDay

Join us for an AWS GameDay, a fun and engaging way to learn AWS technologies through direct, hands-on experience and warm-up for our Zero Hunger Hackathon!

Sharpen your skills at GameDay and carry the momentum into solving global food security challenges at the hackathon.

Unlike traditional workshops, GameDay gives you:
  • Freedom to explore – dive deep with minimal guidance and maximum learning potential.
  • Real challenges – tackle tasks that simulate actual tech issues companies face.
  • Expert guidance – get tips and support from AWS’s 
    top solutions architects.
  • Team collaboration – work in groups to foster creativity and problem-solving.


This is not just a learning experience; it’s a challenge to innovate and apply your skills in new ways. Whether you’re new to AWS or looking to level up, GameDay is the perfect arena to test, learn, and grow.

Nearly 800 million people worldwide struggle with hunger due to conflict, climate change, and economic downturns.

This year, over 333 million people faced acute food shortages. In Latin America, the challenge includes malnutrition and obesity, while Africa confronts severe undernourishment despite digital advancements.

The ZeroHunger Hackathon invites innovative thinkers to tackle these critical issues, using technology to advance food security and improve health equity, especially in the most affected regions.

Steps to join the Zero Hunger Hackathon

Sign up your team

Register your team today (2-6 members) and get updates as we approach the event. Teams can work remotely - the event is 100% online.

Review Challenges

Get your team ready for an impactful journey as we tackle the urgent challenges of food insecurity at the Zero Hunger Hackathon.You'll choose your challenge on the first day, when we'll also share the specific technical requirements.

Code for impact!

and make the best use of your tech skills. The event will be run on Discord and via online streams suitable for all major timezones.During the hackathon, you can also take part in competitions and attend lectures.
Registrations closed
Before the Hackathon
22-24 May
Be the first to know! Sign up for our newsletter and stay updated on upcoming Tech To The Rescue events.

Event Agenda

DAY 1  WEDNESDAY | May 22

4 pm CET | 7 am PDT

Opening ceremony

Keynote Speeches

4:15 pm CET | 7:15 am PDT

AI for Good, focus on SDG2 Zero Hunger
– Jorge Fernandes from World Food Program

4:35 pm CET | 7:35 am PDT

Tech innovations in food security – Panel Discussion – Danielle D Morris (AWS),
Kenneth Obayuwana (Agritech Digest),
Adam Amoussou (Mahouna Farms),
Lejjy Gafour (Food Innovation Catalyst)

5:15 pm CET | 8:15 am PDT 

New data from robots and satellites for a better food system – Tobias Menne from constellr

6:30 pm CET | 9:30 am PDT 

Project Presentations

7 pm CET | 10 am PDT 

Start of Coding

DAY 2  THURSDAY | May 23

Whole day 

Coding

Keynote Speeches Only for Participants

3:00 pm CET | 6:00 am PDT

Navigating AWS GenAINinad Joshi from AWS

3:30 pm CET | 6:30 am PDT

AI from Edge-to-Cloud for Efficient Farming – Archie Yarlagadda from AWS

4:00 pm CET | 7:00 am PDT

Github Copilot – DemystifiedSavings, Efficiency gains and improved developer experience using Copilot – Rohan Raghuwanshi from Capital One

4:30 pm CET | 7:30 am PDT

How data helps combating food wastage globally? – Elizabeth Njoroge from Christian Aid UK

Whole day 

Coding

DAY 3  Friday | May 24

3 pm CET | 6 am PDT

End of Coding

3 pm CET | 6 am PDT

Judging

5:30 pm CET | 8:30 am PDT

Finalists Pitches

6 pm CET | 9 am PDT

Final Decisions from Judges

7 pm CET | 10 am PDT

Closing Ceremony & Winner Announcement 

Hackathon Challenges

On the first day,  Nonprofits present six real-world challenges. Each challenge is carefully crafted to address pressing issues faced by our communities. Tech teams choose the challenge they’re most passionate about solving.

Work together with industry leaders

Hackathon mentors

Beata Mosór

Chief Leadership Officer at CIRC.om

Irete Hamdani

Fractional CTO

Gisela Andrade

Senior Innovation Expert

Radek Wierzbicki

Founder & CEO at Unsung Heroes

+24 more

Hackathon judges

Susan Nesbitt

Strategic Advisor

Vidhya Arvind

Staff Software Engineer at Netflix

Jessica Blat

Senior Innovation Expert

Miguel Martin

President at World Business Angels Forum

+13 more

Hackathon speakers

Jorge Fernandes

United Nations World Food Programme

Lejjy Gafour

Food Innovation Catalyst

Elizabeth Njoroge

Christian Aid UK

Tobias Menne

Constellr

+8 more

Join us

Get ready for the next #techforgood Hackathon - solving real-time global issues!

Sign up for our newsletter to be the first to learn about registration openings and join the mission to be part of the solution.

Meet our community partners

community_partner_Da
logo_proidea-03
UNSUNG-Heroes-e1678534741108
HackYeah logo_czarne
Gr8ltkas_400x400
community_partner_IT
Logo-SIC-e1696612424790
devexLogo
foodtechac.e91035a
xAdmind-logo
4-IRIM logo_engl tekst_png
cloudTechnologies_www (1)
Standard-8
evento-color (1)
378142379_712509887344133_8776971014917508829_n
PREVIOUS HACKATHONS | 2023

Become a Changemaker: join our community of impact-driven coders

December 2023

Air Quality Hackathon

+ 0

Tech Teams

0

Countries

0

Air Quality Challenges

0

Days

June 2023

Generative AI Hackathon

+ 0

Tech Teams

0

Companies

0

Submitted solutions

0

Global challenges aimed to make a world a better place

About us

We bridge the tech resources gap in the impact sector

We are a global platform that matches tech companies with non-profits to help social impact organizations around the world implement digital solutions to scale up their influence.

0 +

Tech companies in 62 countries

0 +

Nonprofits from 84 countries

0 +

Projects in 50+ countries

$ 0 M

Value of services provided

Tech to the Rescue Team Collage